Skip to content
simple home

November 17, 2010

I was finally able to go to the library and spend some time exploring yesterday. Since I’ve been living abroad, I haven’t been in a public library for a long time. Well, a well-stocked, worth going to library anyways. I couldn’t believe it. Did you know that they have thousands upon thousands of books that they’ll loan to you?! For free?! I accidentally handed the librarian my credit card upon checkout… (I can also borrow/download audio books online from my home! It makes my knitting hours even more enjoyable, as if that were possible.)

All of that being said, I stumbled into a section of home decor and design books. I grabbed a few and instantly fell in love with simple home: calm spaces for comfortable living. The book is a discussion about how to make your home a peaceful sanctuary by limiting the amount of stuff you have, using neutral colors, simple pieces and natural materials, and surrounding yourself only with objects that you adore and are meaningful to you. I was particularly giddy about two sections, one on crafted/handmade objects and another on natural cleaning. I am probably a bit too excited about homemade cleaning products, so it was nice to find a few kindred spirits (if you’d like to become one I’d gladly teach you all that I know!).

My favorite quote from the ‘craft’ section:

When thinking about craft and handmade objects, it’s important to get as far away from memories of garish crocheted tea cosies at Sunday craft fairs as possible. These days, craft can be viewed as a rebellion against the ubiquity of mass production. We’ve all had more than enough of seeing the same things over and over, in one home to the next, with the same short life span. Chosing something handmade by an artisan is a celebration of individuality, durability and simple beauty.

They also end this section with an endorsement for making yourself, or for learning how, if you don’t already know. My kind of book.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 8:13 pm

    YAY!! Congratulations on launching Good*Home*Made. I love it! I am so excited! I hope this is the beginning of a great adventure into exploring what brings LIFE and MEANING to you!!

    I can’t wait to read more!

  2. November 18, 2010 4:49 am

    YAY for the new blog!!

  3. ben permalink
    November 22, 2010 2:41 pm

    Can we hand- craft our bathroom floor tiles? They’d mean so much.

    Seriously though, you’ve got me thinking…

Leave a Reply

