Skip to content
local craft fairs, inspiration, and a project

November 29, 2010

This past weekend my husband and I were able to go to a handmade indie craft market in Ft. Collins. Handmade fairs were one of our staples of life in Cape Town, and I’ve been really anxious to see what the creative community in Denver/Boulder/Ft. Collins is up to. Handmade Militia put the event on, and while I was sad there weren’t more vendors, I found the ones that were there pretty inspiring.  (On that note, I’ve been lamenting that I’ll be out of town for this)

We picked up some great letterpress cards from Red Tandem Studio and a tea towel from Vital Industries that has me gushing. Hopefully it will dry dishes too 🙂

All that said, the craft fair once again nudged my soul…“You can do this. You would love to do this.” The only thing that holds me back at this point is not my lack of ability, but my fear that I do not have the creative capacity to come up with original ideas. I can mimic your pants off, but to create something entirely and utterly unique is rare. Or perhaps I haven’t tried because I’m just plain afraid that I just don’t have it.

For those of you who are creative types out there…where do you find inspiration? How do you turn that inspiration into a creation of your own?

And finally, a few pictures of my most recent knitting project, for a friend’s birthday (raveled):

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 2:54 pm

    You can do it, Alicia. Artistic creators DO copy and tweak. There are so many fantastic offerings out there always and what you bring to the “fair” will astound people. I’m sure of it! I love your scarf! Beautiful! I think my Ravelry name is kberent. What’s yours?
    Have a great girl weekend! xo

  2. December 14, 2010 6:14 pm

    uh… I want one of those….

  3. Jennifer Chim permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:50 pm

    I agree with the first post 🙂 and just so you know ive always thought of you as being one of the most creative, inspirational woman i know. its just getting over that fear, ive dealt with that, well still do. and one thing thats helped me to get over it is set aside a certain time period during the day even if its ten or fifteen minutes and write/sketch your ideas out and force yourself to create and experiment. experimenting is key too. one of my favorite inspirational artists is sabrina ward harrison. i think ud really like her. hope this helps, sometimes its hard for me to express what im trying to convey! – jen

    • February 11, 2011 3:00 pm

      Thanks Jen! That is really encouraging. I’m excited to check out SWH, and I’m also excited to report that I’ve developed a callous on the heel of my hand from doing my morning pages every day! Thanks also for the prompt to experiment…sometimes I get so caught up in coming up with the perfect finished product, or feel like I’ll be wasting my time, that I keep myself from exploring. Maybe I should take a few hours a week to simply do that…

  4. Jennifer Chim permalink
    February 11, 2011 2:51 pm

    oh yea and i love your scarf 🙂

Leave a Reply

