Skip to content
Homemade Toothpaste Recipe

February 15, 2011

Here is another one of my favorite recipes- I’ve been making it continually for the past three years. I remember when I first started using it it tasted pretty salty to me, but now I don’t even notice it. Plus, my teeth are literally squeaky clean after I use it and it totally eliminates my morning breath. So I’m a fan.

You’ll need:

  • Baking Soda- about 6 tablespoons
  • Essential Oil- between 15-30 drops, according to your taste

You just mix it together! I keep mine in a plastic jar, which I bought (along with the essential oils) at Mountain Rose Herbs. To use it, just wet your toothbrush and dip it into your jar of powdered toothpaste. Brush. Rinse. Smile.

I estimate it costs me around $1.00 or less to make a month’s supply, compared to $3 or $4 for an all-natural brand at the store. Plus, you’re eliminating non-recyclable packaging.

My current batch uses Peppermint essential oil, but I’ve also grown fond of a Cinnamon/Clove mixture (go easy on the Clove- I accidentally made my tongue numb on the first try!). I’ve also used Spearmint, and I’d like to try Wintergreen at some point. I’ve read some recipes where a few drops of Lemon are added to Peppermint. Here is a rundown of the properties of each of the essential oils:

  • Peppermint: antiseptic
  • Cinnamon: antibiotic, antiseptic, antiviral
  • Clove:  antibiotic, antiseptic, antiviral
  • Spearmint:  antiseptic
  • Wintergreen:  antiseptic
  • Lemon:antibiotic, antiseptic

Let me know how it goes! I hope it gives you an excuse to flash those pearly whites more often!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Soraya Allies permalink
    February 16, 2011 12:24 am

    I love reading your updates and I’m wearing my hat and a pair of earrings today:-) Love you lots. Mwah

  2. martin galley permalink
    April 23, 2011 9:01 am

    Hi Alicia,
    I’m exploring your site today. Interesting recipes and good photos. Good job.
    Marty

Leave a Reply

