Skip to content
Built by Wendy/Simplicity 4112 Shirt

March 16, 2011

The weather last week actually made me feel like my banner is relevant, and also made me feel like sharing about one of my most recent, cozy projects. Then it drastically warmed up the past few days (and an expected 75 degrees tomorrow!), making me realize I better share quickly

A few weeks ago I finished the Simplicity 4112/Built by Wendy shirt pattern for the second time. The first time I used version A and a light lawn cotton for a nice summery shirt. But, this winter I loved all of the plaid flannel shirts I saw hanging out in stores and some of my favorite fashion blogs so I decided to give version B a try with some of that trendy plaid flannel.

I love the cut of the sleeve, especially the gathering at the elbow. In retrospect, I wish I had improvised and made the collar/neckband a huge, floppy bow that ties to the side, but other than that, I’m really happy with how it turned out. I will say that the few Built by Wendy patterns I’ve used seem to end up a bit smaller than I’m expecting, so keep that in mind if you’re going to sew one up yourself. In general, I found the pattern simple to follow and I didn’t run into any major problems…I don’t know if I’ve been sewing long enough now that I’ve made enough mistakes to learn from them, but the seam ripper didn’t come out as much as it usually does this time. But, I will admit to the fact that I sewed my tablecloth to the back side of the shirt at one point…so apparently I still have a lot to learn.

This project was the first time I used the little metal buttons you can cover yourself. I was giddy when I saw them at the fabric store, and I was giddy as I was putting them together. I didn’t make them until I was done with the shirt itself…my own kind of dessert. I still get all fluttery inside when I think about them. (Side note: Are there any knitters out there that have done this with knitted swatches to put on a knit garment? I’d love to learn about that.)

So, now instead of my usual pleading with the fates that Spring come quickly, I’m hoping I have a few more weeks to wear my newest, cozy, little creation.

Have you used this pattern before? Have you ever sewn a tablecloth/dishtowel/skirt that you happen to be wearing to one of your projects?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 8:20 pm

    “Soooo, that shirt is kinda weird, huh?” Just kidding, it’s totally fantastic and I am immeasurably jealous. Make me one! I made a BUild By Wendy dress a few years ago and thought I had totally screwed up the neckline because it was choking me but then I saw that a whole bunch of other people said the same thing about their dresses from the pattern. I love her stuff, too, but next time I’m going to go with my gut and make it to fit ME, not her dress form. You look absolutely beautiful and I can’t wait to be seen with you, you hipster. ❤

    • March 16, 2011 8:21 pm

      Oops, *Built, not BUild…

      • September 1, 2014 11:51 am

        I’m quite pleased with the inaiomftorn in this one. TY!

    • March 16, 2011 8:35 pm

      Thanks, Jules! I haven’t let Ellie see it yet- it’s not pink, so I know she won’t like it 🙂 We may have made the same dress…we should compare notes.

Leave a Reply

