Skip to content
This week I am grateful.

April 7, 2011
tags:

Hello friends. I am sorry I have been absent from this space for the past week+. We received the news last week that our 11 month old son has been having lots of tiny little seizures, so it’s been a rough go. Now that we’ve had a bit of time to recover from all of the hospital and doctor’s visits, we’re feeling much better. Spending lots of time in Children’s Hospital last week I saw many mommas with a sick little one. It helped to put our situation in perspective and left me amazed at how resilient kid’s spirits can be. I didn’t see a single one crying or pouting.

So this week I am grateful. I am grateful for a son who, while he’s struggling with some things, is still an immensely happy baby. I am grateful for the opportunity that hardship brings, an opportunity to choose love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. And while I may not choose these things all the time, I am grateful that my heart and mind are in a place where that is possible.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elisabeth permalink
    April 7, 2011 2:50 pm

    Alicia, I am praying for you and your family. You are amazing.
    -Elisabeth

  2. Jennifer Chim permalink
    April 12, 2011 1:44 pm

    hey just saw this. hope things are getting better! let me know if i can do anything. prayers and thoughts for you, ben and ezra!

    • April 13, 2011 11:22 am

      Thanks Jen. We appreciate the prayers and the offers of help. I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

