Skip to content
Homemade Kale Chips

April 14, 2011

My husband and I have a friend who works in this upmarket, organic/local/GMO free restaurant, and lately it seems that he can’t stop talking about Kale chips, so I thought I’d put on my fancy pants and give it a try.

In case you’ve never heard of Kale before, or don’t know much about it, it’s in the cabbage ‘family’ and is very similar to collard greens. The thing about it that’s amazing: it’s the most nutrient dense food on the planet. Right next to collard greens at the very top of the ANDI index, it scores a 1000. (Just to give you an idea: apples=76, asparagus=234, brussel sprouts= 672)

I used the recipe from Smitten Kitchen, but there’s not much to it: chop it up, toss it in a bowl with a little olive oil and salt, spread it out on a baking sheet and bake at 300F degrees for 30-40 minutes, until crisp and dry. (I also made a batch of chips from Swiss Chard, which worked great.) Using parchment paper on your baking sheet makes clean up minimal.

Here’s the great thing: my nieces (age 4 and 2) could not stop eating it.  could. not.stop. So if you’re looking for a tasty way to get some healthy food into a little one’s mouth, or your own for that matter, these are the real deal. I will add however, that while all children and two other adults in the house love, love, love these, I think they taste like dirt. My friend Janice (who likes the taste of Kale) corrected me when I told her this: “…they have an earthy taste…”

So, even though I’m not the biggest fan, my nieces, sister and husband would all say that they are definitely worth a try!

PS- Smitten Kitchen also suggest grinding the baked chips up and sprinkling over popcorn. Now that I might like.

Do you like Kale? Do you have any good ways to prepare it? Please share!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    April 14, 2011 7:03 pm

    I put kale in my smoothies….just kale, pom juice and a banana. Takes a little getting used to but I LOVE it now. Make sure you have a toothbrush, the kale really gets stuck in your teeth.

    • April 15, 2011 9:31 am

      Great idea, Karen! I’ll make sure to buy one of those tooth brush things next time I’m out…

      • Karen permalink
        April 15, 2011 12:38 pm

        HAHA Alicia…..make sure you have one handy:) I told Greg about the chips yesterday and he made the gaggy “no way I’m going to try those” face (he’s a picky one). I for one am super excited to make some this weekend. I have been craving salty, crunchy snacks lately and that just might do the trick. Thanks dear friend!

Leave a Reply

