Skip to content
Vintage Circus Birthday Party

May 6, 2011

My little boy recently had his first birthday, so we had a small gathering of family and a few friends. I’ve been a little smitten with vintage circus images and typefaces recently, and his birthday was a great excuse to indulge. I found some great ideas at The Candy Tree, and found myself wishing I’d left enough time to buy a set of their adorable invitations. We had planned to have the party outside and play some lawn games, but it was too windy that day, so we all bundled inside and crowded into our living room/kitchen.

I know that he really had no idea what was happening, but there are some things that are just an excuse to have a party and be surrounded by the people you like most.

Cupcakes with cotton candy topping, vegetarian pigs in a blanket, homemade caramel corn and peanuts in the shell (in the brown paper bags)- a very sophisticated menu.

 My sister-in-law made the little ‘smash cake’ and decorated it. I added the mini-bunting to top it off, and made little matching flags on toothpicks to top the cupcakes.

Full size bunting and streamers to turn the house into a circus tent.You can find templates for large, medium and small bunting flags here, for free!

And of course, the best part- the baby eating cake for the first time.

So, little man, I know we’re in the middle of it right now, but I wouldn’t trade you for the world. Before I met your daddy, I never thought that I could love someone so much it would make me cry- and now I have two men in my life that bring tears to my eyes. You have brought a fullness to us in ways we never would have imagined, and most of the best days of my life have happened since you were born. I hope that this next year will be a year of walking and talking and finally having to childproof the house. And even if it’s not, I love the little person that you are, and I pray that your daddy and I can help you become the person you were created to be.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. julie permalink
    May 6, 2011 3:25 pm

    Oh Alicia, you made me cry. I love you guys so much! The photos are darling, I’m so sad to have missed it. You are such a great mama and I’m blessed to be on this journey with you. xo

  2. Deogratious Katongole permalink
    May 7, 2011 2:42 pm

    I so miss being with you guys especially on Ezra’s first birthday. I miss you very much, and miss seeing Ezra’s amazing smiles. You and Ben are doing a great job parenting that guy. We are enjoying Ben for the last few hours before he gets on the plane to come beck home. He has missed you a lot.

    Oh, and thank you for the Francis postcard, that was so thoughtful of you.

    I will see you guys soon.

    Peace

    Deo

  3. May 10, 2011 8:01 pm

    Your blog is super cute and so is Ezra J! It sounds like the party was a fun, cozy, and bond-y time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

