Skip to content
J.R. Liggett’s Old-Fashioned Bar Shampoo

May 10, 2011

While shopping at my local Whole Foods a month or so ago, I saw this among the other shampoo, and immediately my interest was piqued. I flipped it over and saw that the ingredient list was basically castille soap without the hydrogenated oil (fancy term for shortening), which means that it is made of very simple, entirely natural ingredients. I thought I’d snag a bar of it and give it a try, and if I really like it, maybe I can figure out how to make my own version some day. Plus, the side boasted some really great perks:

A thick luxurious lather, rinses out clean and easily, gives body and manageability?! No animal testing, preservatives or animal products?! A money back guarantee?! I was skeptical since the marketing on packaging generally stretches the truth a bit, but after a month of using it I will fully vouch for all of the claims. Well, the ones about my hair, anyways- I guess we have to trust them about the ‘no animal testing,’ but I do promise that I haven’t tested it on my cat yet.  So, if you’re looking for something interesting, easy to travel with ( you don’t even have to put it in the little clear plastic baggie at the airport), totally natural and simple that works really well, this is one of those things. And, as many indie/organic/local type brands do, it has cleverness on the packaging, which I always love:

Let me know if you try it, or something like it, or something not at all like it but that was equally simple/useful/fun…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 8:04 pm

    Patagonia used to have a shirt with that “use it up…” phrase. Great companies think alike, perhaps? I think the most important, tough, rigorous consumer question for this product though is, of course, how does it smell?

    • May 11, 2011 7:53 am

      Ha! Good question Lashley! Funny you ask, because I was just thinking yesterday morning, as I washed my hair, that it reminded me of this rose scented soap I had one time and about how much I like it. It made me want to go find some rose scented soap. Rose smelling in a really gentle, lavender-y sort of way. So, I’d say it smells lovely!

Leave a Reply

