Skip to content
Catching up…

June 29, 2011

Hello friends!

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I last posted. I’ve been:

  • swamped getting all of my seeds in, trying to make the most of Colorado’s short growing season.
  • helping a good friend deliver her first baby.
  • spending a long weekend in Oxford, Mississippi for a wedding (which really means lots of time with wonderful friends).
  • going to the Navajo reservation in New Mexico, meeting lots of people and getting a quick lesson in Navajo rug weaving on a loom.
  • sorting out all of the different therapists and appointments for my 14 month old son, who is developmentally delayed. He is forming quite the entourage!
  • building a cheap/creative canopy for our patio area, which failed. We are now solidly in the middle of round two.
  • knitting a hat for myself, since I only own three things I’ve knitted and thought it was time I stopped wearing hats purchased at Target.
  • helping a good friend deliver her third baby.

So I’ll be spending the next few posts reporting back on all these adventures, but we can start today with the garden…

the first produce of the summer. and my niece's feet.

We ate the first fruits of the garden on the first day of summer last week. It’s so hard to describe how wonderful and completely fun it feels to have stuck a seed in the ground and watch it grow, and then be able to eat it. Each morning I walk outside and poke around in the garden, setting up the sprinkler, noting which things need to be staked or pruned, cursing the racoons that keep digging up my newly transplanted strawberry plant roots. And each morning I’m a little bit overcome by the process of gardening and that I get to participate in it. All I do is make sure the soil is right, drop a few seeds in the ground and supplement whatever water is needed, and within a few short days food is springing up from the ground. As I peek at the sprouts curl up from the ground, their tiny leaves unfurling, I find comfort  in the fact that I’m not in charge- I don’t make this happen. It gives me peace to know that, while I can facilitate some things, there are many things in this life (most things maybe?) that I’m simply not able to make happen, and that I just need to rest in God’s capable hands. And then I take a deep breath of the still-cool morning air, mingling with the smell of the wet grass, smile, and head inside to start the day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Chim permalink
    June 29, 2011 2:52 pm

    🙂 love reading your posts!
    my neighbor is starting gardening for the first time and isn’t having much luck. i have never gardened either so im not much help, do you have tips i can pass on? esp with colorado clay soil…

    • June 29, 2011 4:24 pm

      Yes! Mulch, mulch, mulch! It’s made the biggest difference in our garden. We raided a local recycling depot and brought home a bunch of newpapers. Just shred them into strips (much easier if you tear with the grain of the paper) and spread them over the whole garden to a depth of 1″ or so. Then we have our beds topped off with either (1) 2″ of grass clippings from mowing the lawn or (2) wood chips. The wood chips seem to work a little bit better, but the grass clippings are free, which you just can’t beat 🙂

  2. Jennifer Chim permalink
    July 19, 2011 1:21 pm

    thanks just read this 🙂 and i will definately pass it along!! and keep in my mind for next year when i get my butt in gear to garden 😉

Leave a Reply

