Skip to content
Squirrels & Owls Baby Shower

July 9, 2011

Hello there!

I was looking through my photos today on the search for something, when I realized I hadn’t shared the photos from the ‘Squirrels and Owls’ baby shower I helped to host in May. I was able to compile lots of fun ideas I’ve seen floating around, and made up some pretty cute stuff.

The sex of the baby was a surprise, so the nursery was decorated in a gender neutral ‘squirrels and owls’ theme. I thought it would be fun to make some things that my friend could take home and use to decorate the nursery after the shower was over. There are definitely more owl-craft ideas out there, which was fine by me, as I’m still pretty angry at the squirrels that kept digging up the new strawberry plant roots in my garden and therefore didn’t really feel like making cute little squirrel favors and decorations.

So, I started by ordering the invitation on etsy from Rock Paper Dove:

And then for the decorations I made little owl felt balls, following the tutorial here. They’re about 4″ in diameter, and I’ll be making a few more and then convincing my dad to help me turn them into a mobile for the nursery.

Then I made a simple garland with paper circles I cut out and machine sewed together. You can’t really tell in the pictures, but I used different, brightly colored thread for each strand. I think it would be so pretty to make dozens more and hang them en masse. Let me know if you want a tutorial for this!

Then I just grabbed all the other random owl stuff I had around the house- luckily I have a little collection which is slowing amassing on my bookshelf. My favorite one is the pink ceramic owl, picked up at the Milnerton Flea Market in Cape Town. You can’t tell, but it has this iridescent, oyster-shell sheen to it. It’s beat up and tacky beyond belief. Love it.

There are a lot of great tutorials out and about for cute owl themed goodies, including this one by my friend Julie of Made Mama, but I am frankly not superwoman like she is, so I kept it simple and picked one that only involved making cupcakes and then sticking junk food on top. In a really cute fashion, that is (tutorial here):

I also have some woodland creature cookie cutters I bought at Ikea last year, and I’ve been dying to use them, so I finally let the little squirrels make an appearance in the form of rosemary scones with strawberry jam. The original recipe (which my sister-in-law LOVES, by the way) calls for you to make a divet in the scone and fill it with the jam, but it made the squirrels look kind of like I had caught them red-handed in the strawberry patch and then got my hands on them, if you know what I mean. So we just served the jam on the side, thinking that it might be too much gore for a baby shower (and perhaps even for this post).It was a great afternoon celebrating a lady we love and the impending birth of her first baby!

The baby girl, by the way has since been born, with yours truly getting to serve as doula and honored attendant!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 2:19 pm

    I love getting to see this side of you, since I honestly didn’t know it existed!

Leave a Reply

