Skip to content
“The Ikea Effect”

July 26, 2011

A friend just passed this along to me, and of course it caught my attention because it had the work ‘Ikea’ in it (my house is probably around 90% Ikea fixtures and furnishings, and the Colorado Ikea hasn’t even opened yet), but I love it because the author, Dan Ariely, talks about how we value things much more when we make them with our own hands- a concept I love, and try my best to live out. Although, let’s be honest, I wouldn’t exactly take credit for ‘making’ anything that I bought at Ikea and put together myself…

Is there something you’ve made that you are exceedingly proud of or attached to? Is there a project you might consider taking on and doing yourself rather than paying someone else to make it/do it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

