Skip to content
Summertime

July 30, 2011
tags:

Hello friends! I’ve been spending this week busy in the garden, pulling the incessant amount of wild morning glories that keep threatening to take over my garden and planting fall crops…green onion, another round of lettuce and spinach, carrots, broccoli. I also put together my first batch of jam (ginger-peach) and canned for the first time! I thought I might want to get a batch or two of canning under my belt before the garden swamps me with fresh produce to preserve for winter.

My husband left this week for a 10-day work trip, so we went out the afternoon before he left to get some quality time. We drove to Morrison, the town where Red Rocks is located, and walked along their main street with it’s little shops, and then meandered through the neighborhoods, checking out all the cute little houses- including an adorable bed & breakfast where we might head to someday soon, even though it’s only a 30 minute drive. I think it was this sign that made the decision for us:

We also chanced upon a great little restaurant with a courtyard, fountain and waterfall, and one of the most fun drinks I’ve ever had:

‘A Walk in the Garden’, made from lavender infused vodka, lemonade and sparkling water. They served it with a small spring of lavender leaves and vanilla sugar on the rim. Yes, please. I have a slight affinity for edibles with lavender in the them, so I was a little giddy.

It was a wonderful summer afternoon that got me thinking about how quickly summer is going, and the many summer-y things I want to do before fall comes around:

  • Hike…which I can’t believe we haven’t done yet. It seems like it’s either been uncharacteristically rainy, or too hot to take the baby.
  • Go berry picking. Perhaps bring enough home to make some jam.
  • Find a local dairy and drink some fresh, local milk.
  • Have a backyard party with lots of friends.
  • Eat meal after meal of fresh produce from the garden (we’re thisclose to everything producing something all at the same time).
  • Go to a baseball game.
  • Go to the pool.
  • Go camping.
  • Visit the new Ikea. Try to keep pocketbook closed.

There are lots of summer things we’ve been able to do already though:

  • road trip
  • visit the Royal Gorge
  • catch an outdoor concert
  • garage sales! (I desperately missed these while in South Africa)
  • Farmer’s Markets…one with fresh, homemade cream soda, nonetheless
  • make an outdoor seating area in the backyard
  • play with my baby and hang with my husband (which has generally involved reading the ‘Gregor the Overlander‘ series out loud together)
  • learn to can/preserve/freeze

 

 What’s left on your list for this summer? Any fun ideas or plans? Or things you’ve already done?

 

***stay tuned for a special announcement and giveaway on Monday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

