Skip to content
We have a winner…and a garden!

August 4, 2011
tags:

Hello folks!

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

5

Timestamp: 2011-08-04 14:12:41 UTC

Congrats Tiffany, you are our lucky winner! Thanks to all of you for checking out the blog and the etsy shop. For those of you who didn’t win, head on over to the shop and pick some up for yourself!

The garden out back has exploded this week! I am so excited that we’re about to start eating every meal from there. Well, at least parts of every meal. I ran across a ‘before’ picture a few days ago…holy cow. I’m glad I remembered to take it.

Before:


After:

My moss roses finally rival my moms. Well, at least one patch does.

The first red tomato. It will be shared with friends tonight at dinner.

Hot chilies for my husband. He’s out of town right now, so I might experiment with canning a batch- because I will certainly not be eating them. Did you know they grew upside down like this?

Coriander seed on the cilantro. These will most likely be ready to pick and dry within the next few days.

Garlic scapes. I’ve never eaten them before, but tonight might be the night!

An impending harvest. We have 7 tomato plants that are all full of green tomatoes right now. Come this time next week we’ll be in need of some good tomato recipes!

Baby butternut

Baby cucumbers

Lavender I’ve grown from seed. I didn’t expect it to flower this year.

 Marigolds along the border.

Wildflowers along the back fence

Last night I was sitting on the back porch as the sun was setting. As it got darker the path lights started to come on, one my one. It felt magical. And all of the sudden, all the hard worked seemed worth it. Immensely.

How is your garden growing? Have you ever done anything that took lots of commitment, but was really worth it?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Chim permalink
    August 4, 2011 12:22 pm

    Your garden is gorgeous! wish i didnt have three crazy dogs who would tear it up and ruin it in an instant or id have you come over and help me with my backyard! i think next year im going to get whiskey barrels or a bunch of large pots and just plant in the front yard. thanks for the inspiration!

  2. August 4, 2011 9:41 pm

    Hooray! I’m so excited I won. Thanks, Alicia.

    Your garden is beautiful. Ours was sadly neglect this year — just a few cherry tomato plants & asparagus. We did, however, join a CSA and have loved being surprised and challenged by the variety of veggies we receive every week. (It was a BIG year for bok choy — I don’t think I ever want to see it again).

    • August 4, 2011 10:21 pm

      Congrats Tiffany! I have no idea what to do with bok choy…did you find any good recipes?

  3. Jenny Southard permalink
    August 5, 2011 10:05 pm

    Alicia, You are soooo pretty! I love your photo. I shared your garden photos with Drew. We’re reall jealous. I’m very excited Tiffany won your giveaway! Got your postcard today. Thanks! I love hand-written mail. Happy weekend!

  4. Aunt Pam permalink
    August 16, 2011 10:38 pm

    WOW…your garden looks great! It’s come a long way from last summer when grandma and I were visiting! I planted 3 Japanese long eggplant, 3 green peppers, 1 cherry hot pepper (these are just getting ripe now so don’t know what they are like) and 1 cucumber plant. ALL of the plants have been producing like wildfire! I haven’t had such good luck with any of these for years and I mean years. We’ve been reaping the benefits and so have my co-workers. Unfortunately, Uncle Rich didn’t have very good luck with his corn this year but his self-seeded cherry tomatoes (and we have lots) are loaded. They are so sweet!

    Keep up the great work!
    Aunt Pam

Leave a Reply

