Skip to content
Milanese Lace Hat

August 9, 2011

I had a little birthday money to spend, and a weekend in the mountains with my family over the fourth of July, so of course I headed to my local yarn store to pick up some yarn for a project (because what puts you in the mood to knit more than bbq’s, 90 degree weather and fireworks?). I decided that I wanted to make a few things for myself, since I’ve knitted dozens and dozens of things but only two currently reside in my closet. I decided on the Milanese Lace Topper. I picked out some beautiful Mochi Plus yarn, dyed in a beautiful variegated pattern, which is abnormal for me since I usually stick to no-nonsense beiges, greys  and blacks- or at least a solid color. But it was just so beautiful.

Sometimes when I knit I, unfortunately, pay more attention to the conversation I’m having than the knitting I’m doing. (Although, it’s probably better to pay attention to actual people, but it definitely doesn’t do my knitting projects any good…) I excitedly cast off and slipped the hat onto my head- which then promptly popped right off. I had accidentally skipped one of the lace pattern repeats, leaving me with a beautiful lace yarmulke. not even big enough to give to one of my baby nieces.

I just couldn’t bring myself to knit the same thing again with the same yarn- it just doesn’t seem as fun- so we headed to the local yarn shop in the little mountain town where we were staying. I picked out another variegated yarn (Brown Sheep Company’s Lanaloft) and set out on another attempt. In the end I actually like how the Lanaloft colorway looked (softly shifting colors) more than the Mochi Plus (very stripe-y).

While I usually detest knitting lace, this project was a simple lace pattern and a small enough project that I truly enjoyed it. Although I did try to knit some of it while watching ‘The Adjustment Bureau’- it is impossible to knit lace while watching a thriller. The pattern was well written and easy to follow and now I’m suddenly craving some colder weather…

raveled

…and now I have that extra skein of Mochi Plus to use on somethings else!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 12:53 pm

    love it!

  2. Soraya Allies permalink
    August 10, 2011 2:57 am

    Wow Alicia!! You’ve got talent. I love the hat!! Please put it on your Etsy shop then I’ll buy one. I’m sure you can make a one size fits all kind:-)

Leave a Reply

