Skip to content
I’m finally a knitter.

October 3, 2011

If you’ve ever been on ravelry, you’ve most definitely seen the French Press Slippers. I’ve read about them in more than one knitting magazine and seen them featured multiple times on blogs/in catalogs as the perfect thing to knit up for Christmas gifts, 5,162 other knitters have posted their projects on ravelry. I started to feel like I wasn’t actually a knitter because I hadn’t made a pair yet.

But now, at last, I’m a knitter. I’ve made my own pair and I wear them with pride. I’m finally one of the cool kids.

They knit up ridiculously fast, as you hold the yarn double or triple for the whole pattern, and they took around an hour of focused attention for the felting. I will say though that felting isn’t really my thing. I’ve done a few felted projects now, and I don’t really like the lack of control I feel over the process (I also have a front loading washing machine, which might be part of the problem…). And there’s also a ton of seaming, which I would rather avoid. I would highly recommend them for gift-knitting. You can knit up a whole pair from one skein of Cascade 220, which costs around $8 or $9 and are a very time efficient project. Plus, they’re super cute and cozy- I have been wearing mine almost non-stop since I finished them.

I will say though, the hardest part of most of my knitting projects is picking out the buttons. I spent at least an hour pacing through the button section of my local yarn store trying to find the perfect button.Wish I had a close-up of them.

raveled

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 9:01 pm

    Those are adorable!!! I am a knitter, and I’ve never made a pair of these – but I sure do want to now!!! Wow. (seriously :))

    JB @ oneofthelovebugs.wordpress.com

  2. October 4, 2011 5:08 am

    I love them! I made a pair too, but confused stockinette stitch with garter stitch, so I think I’m going to have to make another pair to perfect it. I”m crocheting a blanket now, and anytime I work on it, I think of you and how, for a couple of months, every time we came over, you were drowning in all those little flower squares. Miss you!

  3. Leanna permalink
    October 4, 2011 6:01 pm

    I hope to join you soon! Nice pictures 🙂

  4. Aunt Pam permalink
    October 4, 2011 8:55 pm

    oneofthelovebugs is right, they are adorable! So cute! I think you were a knitter before cuz everything you’ve posted looks so good. I could never really get the hang of knitting. Luv ya!

Leave a Reply

