Skip to content
The Logan Sweater

December 6, 2011

Some dear friends recently commissioned me to knit a sweater for their dog, Logan. It was a fun project, and I got to play around with some fun cables. And now poor little Logan isn’t shivering to his bones in the winter.

I knit from the ‘Dog Cozy Pattern’ but I made a lot of changes in order to get the perfect fit for Logan. The pattern was easy to follow and easy to make changes to.

I used the Swish Worsted in Dove from knitpicks.com. This yarn is is so incredibly soft- it’s tempting me to give knitting socks a try. It’s a superwash wool, which means it’s been treated  so that you can wash and dry it in the machine, but it doesn’t compromise the things that are great about wool (temperature regulating, water & stain repellent, fire resistant). This is great when you’re knitting things that will need to get washed all the time, like dog sweaters and socks, for instance, but it does give me pause when I think about the chemicals that are being used to treat the wool (I had a perm in the fifth grade- I know how toxic that stuff can be…).

And I couldn’t help but use the leftover wool to make Logan a special present, knit from a pattern called ‘To Humiliate the Dog.’ How could I not make something with a name like that?!

Do you use superwash wool? What do you think about it from a sustainability standpoint? Or have you held onto your sustainability standpoint and knit socks with regular wool and handwash them? Do you love it or hate it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leanna permalink
    December 6, 2011 1:10 pm

    Love!!!! Super cute:-) I watched you make this and am glad we get to see it in action

Leave a Reply

