Skip to content
Girls Weekend in Boise

December 21, 2011

I am fortunate enough to have a small group of girlfriends that I have known since high school (some of them since middle school!!!) who are still dear friends. Every year we just before Christmas we all get together at one of our houses, and this year took us to Boise. I love that this tradition is part of my yearly rhythm, even when I’ve lived out of the country.

This was our first trip to Boise, as one of the gals had just moved there. I had a hunch I would like it before we went- it’s a ‘big, little city’ with tons of local shops, cowboy charm and, I’ve heard, an amazing summer market. I even spotted some knitted graffiti on a blocks worth of parking meters. My kind of town. One of my favorite stops was Fork, a restaurant that serves as much local food as they can (the nuts on the salad were from the nut shop down the street, coffee from the local coffee roasters, bread from the bakery a few doors down…). Even the water glasses were made locally in a community project.

The weekend was spent talking, mostly. One of the husbands teased us that it didn’t matter what we did, because all we ever do is talk…”you’ll just sit around the house and talk. And then you’ll go a restaurant and talk. Then you’ll take a walk and talk. Then you’ll go to a coffee shop and talk.”   Well, yeah. What else would we do?

Tomato Bisque and Grilled Cheese Fondue at Fork

There was also a plethora of knitting. It was at this weekend four years ago that one of the girls taught me to knit!

It’s pretty fun that after so many years and so many changes we are still close friends. While we’ve all grown into very different people, it’s wonderful and comforting to be with people who have seen your journey since the beginning. People who have celebrated with you the new jobs, opportunities, marriages and babies and who have grieved with you over the deep heartaches and losses. How could I do life without them?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    January 15, 2012 11:55 pm

    I love all you girls!

Leave a Reply

