Skip to content
Favorites: Anne Lamott

January 16, 2012
tags:

I love reading memoirs, and I just found out that one of my favorite memoir authors is going to be releasing anew book in March.

I love Anne Lamott’s way of capturing life in words- the way we try to do right and make good choices, and how hard that can be sometimes. The way life can suck, and leave you reeling, feeling like you’re going to die in a puddle on the floor. But then the next day you wake up and realize that life can actually be okay, beautiful even, and that you’ve decided to stick around for another day just to see what might happen. She makes me feel a little less crazy (or maybe provides some companionship in the craziness?…). And she’s funny. Really funny.

When I found out I was expecting a baby boy, a good friend sent me her book ‘Operating Instructions’- her memoir of her first year with her son, Sam. Her new book, “Some Assembly Required,” is “a journal of my son’s first son.”

If you’ve never read any of her works before, I suggest starting with ‘Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith.”

Have your read Anne Lamott before? Is there a memoir that you have especially enjoyed reading?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 8:28 pm

    I’ve read all her novels, too. They are different than her nonfiction, but they have that precise and truthful writer’s voice. She’s a fine, fine writer.
    Fascinating!

Leave a Reply

