Skip to content
Knit: High Line Shawl by Kristen Kapur

May 21, 2012

You might have noticed that I’ve been absent from here for awhile. Life presents it’s challenges and opportunities, and I was wondering if they left me with any time or energy to continue writing, but my then my (wonderful) husband reminded me about all the ways other people’s blogs have helped, taught, guided, encouraged and inspired me, and suggested that maybe I continue posting in the hopes of doing the same for someone else. So, if you ever feel any of those things when reading, please drop me an email or leave a comment to let me know! In the meantime, I’ll keep writing 🙂

I know that we”re bordering on summer, but I wanted to write about the High Line Shawl which I completed late this winter and haven’t had a chance to post yet. I was wanting a BIG, fluffy scarf that didn’t have too much bulk. I also thought it was time to knit something for myself (since I’ve kept approximately 2 of my completed projects). And while I hate knitting lace, I thought that knitting it at such a large scale would be a different, maybe even enjoyable, experience.

Turns out that the High Line Shawl is indeed big and fluffy, with just the right balance of bulk and wear-ability. It also turns out that I hate knitting lace at any scale.

The pattern was very well written and easy to understand- at no point was I cussing under my breath at it’s creator (Kristen Kapur). And while I have some reservations about treated wool, the Knit Picks Bulky Swish yarn is certainly soft, wearable and easily cared for.

All in all, it was a fast and easy project, that I wore often when it was cold. I’m even contemplating knitting another with a cotton/linen blend for the warmer months- as soon as I once again forget how much I hate knitting lace.

*raveled

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    May 21, 2012 3:56 pm

    I love this Alicia! It may even go on my list of projects to tackle. Although, on second thought, if you were swearing @ the lace, maybe I should wait awhile :). Are there any cotton/linen yarns you are particularly fond of?

    • May 24, 2012 1:34 pm

      I’m actually knitting a sweater right now with Knit Picks cotton linen blend, so I’ll have to let you know what I think after it’s done and I’ve worn it a few times. If you’re looking for cotton, Blue Sky Alpaca’s worsted weight cotton is to die for. I haven’t knit with their other weights of cotton, but if they’re anything like the worsted, I’d give them a try.

  2. May 21, 2012 9:18 pm

    beautiful! yes, your writing always inspires me!

Leave a Reply

